I’m not addicted…I’m microblogging.

image

In a world obsessed with the internet, demoralized by Facebook, and constantly connected via smart phones, where do you differentiate sharing relevant information in a useful way from overexhausting social networking at the expense of actual human interaction?

The term microblogging is one of my favorite terms in all of internet jargon.  I mean, it makes perfect literal sense…if a blog is a web log, then a microblog must be an abbreviated version of, right?  But who are the microbloggers?  Are they school kids coordinating with their friends over studies or parties?  Are they corporate execs keeping in contact with their colleagues and following an important deal in real time?  What about advertisers getting in on the latest trend and forcefeeding their product to an entire generation that is plugged into the same network at all times?  How many people are just bored and forgot, or never knew how, to handle real social interaction so they live their entire life vicariously through a constantly updating net handle.

As wonderful as the internet is, and as useful as microblogging can be, it is completely unnecessary.  Everything that can be accomplished with microblogging was accomplished before it’s existance, and probably by far less damaging means.  Don’t you want to step out of the box?  Have a real challenge?  Reach a number of people by your actions rather than your ability to tap into their network.  You can make thousands believe whatever you want if you post it on Facebook, but imagine if you could prove it to them by showing them in person.  Microblogging wasn’t a step forward…it was a sign of how lost we have become.

Maybe I seem hypocritical; I am posting this in a blog, and when I’m finished I will link to it on Twitter.  What’s worse is that I’m using my smartphone to write this post.  I am constantly connected.  I have a love/hate relationship with the internet.  I love to use it.  I’m entertained by it, educated by it, and on occasion I am even enlightened by it.  I hate that I love it.  I check Twitter and Facebook on my phone (at least) 50 times each day.  You know how rediculous it is to feel that you need to be updated as to what other people, companies, news agencies, artists, and authors are doing that many times a day?  What if microblog was reduced back to blog and you only checked up on those you followed once a day?  Would that still be more often than you checked up on your family members?  Your mother?  Your daughter?  Your father?  Your son?  Wouldn’t that be a step back in the right direction?  Think about it.

Posted from WordPress for Android

    • theparanoidagent
    • November 15th, 2010

    Unfortunately, it seems as if some form of social networking is needed when you are trying to blog out there. At least for me, with the Paranoid_Agent blog, I’m trying to get information out there that i feel that more than just an inner circle of friends need to read. Now, when it comes to the more personal blogs, you can establish where you can make it more of an effort to include mostly just friends and not really care what the outside world thinks of your ramblings.
    I’m really finding it more and more annoying to keep up with a lot of twitter stuff, but it does hold a gold mine once in a while that i find relevant to what i am interested in and might want to share with others. So I am willing to deal with that headache for that 1 link that is put out there that I can enlighten myself or give myself a good chuckle about.

    • I know what you mean when you say you have to use social networks if you’re going to blog, but I’m referring to the world’s general obsession, not just the bloggers. I’m talking aboout how sad it is that I chronical my life via photos on Facebook and # signs on Twitter for all of my followers and friends, but rarely share with my family or real friends. Now I know that family and friends are on my Facebook friends list, but it’s terrible that it’s become so easy to share with them that way and so difficult to have actual interaction. I talk back and forth with the people I know the same way I do to people I have never met…with typed messeges on some social network, website or blog. I think that the next time I have the impulse to post a status update I will text a family member instead, and the next time I want to check up on the happenings of the random folks I follow on Twitter I should instead phone a friend. I know that won’t really happen, but it sure is a nice thought isn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

