It’s been a long time.

Welcome to the family, Steven Jr.!

It has been a really, really long time since I’ve posted in this blog.  I’m sure I wasn’t missed.  I haven’t posted in about 4 months, and in that time a lot of very exciting things have happened.  I’ll give you a quick run down, then I will hopefully get better at updating this blog.

First off, since I never really followed up at all, my latest Rival Comic TKTC did launch on Christmas day 2010 and has ran weekly since at Drunk Duck.  It is my first Christian webcomic, and it marks the beginning of Rival being a Christian webcomic label.  Every webcomic released from Rival will be faith-based and have a Christian message.  TKTC has been a lot of fun so far and I’ve done a lot of experimenting with my art to get it to look how it does today, which is very different from my usual comic style.  I am usually very heavy on inks and have chosen to use no inks at all with TKTC in order to give it a ‘sketchy’ rough look.

During the course of running the comic, I also came up with the idea to sell finished faith-based webcomic projects to support charities, non-profits, ministries, etc. with a new site called ‘Buy a comic, save a nation’.  I haven’t gotten very far with that project yet, but when TKTC #1: Herod is completed it will be the first print comic sold for the cause.  I have chosen the House of Abraham, part of Go Out Ministries, as the first ministry supported by the site.

I had updated the comic faithfully every Thursday until last week when something very amazing happened.  We welcomed my third child, and first son, Steven Jr. into our house last Wednesday!  He was very healthy and weighed in at 7 lbs. 2 1/2 oz. at birth.  He is such a blessing!  We got to bring him home last Saturday and he enjoyed his first church service at Mt. Tabor Church of God on Sunday.  It’s kind of set off my art and comic, but that’s quite all right!

As we welcomed home my son, I did take a week off of work to help the family adjust and help Amanda to rest and heal.  Things are finally starting to calm down some around here and I should be able to get back to writing very soon, and should start artwork by this weekend.  Before I get back to drawing for the comic I have to first finish a T-shirt design for a friend’s croquet tournament that will be the first piece done for a section of the ‘buy a comic’ site called Commissions for Christ.  I will hopefully have that done by this weekend and have links posted here.

Also, I did a piece for Japan relief for a book being released from Broken Soul Press that will be available on their site for a 1 dollar download and all money will go directly toward disaster relief in Japan.  The piece has been finished for a while, but the book isn’t available yet so I haven’t been able to post the art online.  As soon as the book is ready, I will post my piece and a link for the download!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

