Osama Tsunami and the Comic-kazi kid!

Finally coloring this long overdue t-shirt

Wow, what a week!  We’ve seen the most wanted man in the world shot dead and put to rest at sea.  We’ve seen how devastating events like the Japan tsunami can be, even for small towns like Celina, OH.  And I’ve seen my newborn son spend his second week on Earth…and inevitably had no time for art!

With all the crazy things going on;  With uncertainty about money and jobs, new lives to care for, the busy lives of a growing family, and grand events all over the news, it’s kind of hard to fathom ever getting our lives under control. We can’t. Thank God.

What a way to start the week, right?!  I was strolling into work Sunday night, which is Monday for nighttime working zombies like myself, and I heard the news that Osama Bin Laden had been killed.  It wasn’t fact, and I hadn’t yet heard from a news cast, but a coworker was talking about it in a very excited, has-to-be-true kind of voice.  While it is big news, I wasn’t all that excited as he talked about it.  This might seem surprising since 9/11 had been so influential to me, and I had wasted so much time and money watching ridiculous amounts of cable news and going to school majoring in counter terrorism, but a) I didn’t even know for sure if it was true, b) the new life that I’ve found dominates the old me that used to be obsessed with this sort of thing (you see, I used to obsess over the terrorists and their motives.  I thought that we could combat the eminent threats militarily while educating our society on actual root causes to try to avert this type of attack in the future.  This was a precedent to the current Christian me.), and c) even if it was true, I knew that it meant very little since he’s just a mythical figurehead anyway.  However, while not outwardly thrilled, I did feel that if he truly was dead, justice had been done.  When I found out for sure that he had been killed I felt for sure that God had administered justice to this man, which brings me to the next part of this conversation.

The whole day I saw Christians cry out about not celebrating the death of this man.  How God loved this man and we should too.  That we have no right to kill him as God wants all men to live.  Some even suggested that if you were a Christian and you were glad that he was dead then you were not a Christian at all and that you love your government more than Christ.

Now, I agree that God does not want anyone to die.  I agree that he loves everyone and wants everyone to be saved.  But I also know that God will eventually bring evil, unrepentant people to justice, and when God’s will is done and his justice is administered we should rejoice and marvel at his awesome sovereign power.  Remember we didn’t kill Osama Bin Laden.  We stood back and did nothing, leaving him in the hands of God.  God gives authority to governments and their militaries and law enforcement for the sole purpose of bringing evildoers to justice.  So, I’m not saying that we should be screaming and partying in front of the Pentagon like a bunch of drunken frat boys, but I think that if you feel glad that justice has been done, don’t feel ashamed!  Don’t feel like you are not a Christian!  Here’s what scripture really says about feeling joy when justice is done:

Proverbs 21:15 When justice is done, it brings joy to the righteous but terror to evildoers.

And Paul reminds us that God gives authority to men for this purpose:

Romans 13:1 Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. 2Consequently, whoever rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. 3 For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and you will be commended. 4 For the one in authority is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for rulers do not bear the sword for no reason. They are God’s servants, agents of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. 5 Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also as a matter of conscience.

So, as you can see, if you are a Christian and you felt glad that justice was done, you don’t have to listen to the people who would purposely make you feel guilty by misusing parts of the book of Matthew to convince you that God does not ever want a man to be brought to death.  OK, I’m off the soapbox.

This week was also a bitter reminder of the long reaching effects of the tsunami in Japan.  Now, before I go any further, I am definitely not comparing my plight to that of the people in Japan who are actually suffering with lost lives, homes, etc, but merely showing how much of an effect things like this can have for ordinary Joe’s like myself in piddly little towns like mine.  Y’see, I work for a Japanese company, CAPT, which is a supplier for Honda.  As you can imagine with Honda’s main plants in Japan, we have been effected by the storm.  For the past several weeks our plant, and other Honda plants and suppliers, have been on reduced work weeks because of the lack of flow of parts and vehicles at the Japanese plants.  So far I’ve been able to go in and do maintenance stuff on some of the non-production days and make up some lost pay.  Also, the birth of our son came during one of these weeks and I had to take off some time anyway, so, so far, I hadn’t really felt the blow from the situation, but this week it looks like my maintenance days will be ending.  The latest reports from Honda make it seem like they won’t be up to full production until early next Year, which puts us on reduced 3-day work weeks for a long, long time.  Along with this news, we also got rid of all temp associates plant wide, which definitely doesn’t seem too promising.  

Anyway, I’ve still got some money banked up that we might be able to use to cushion this blow for a while, but it won’t last forever.  Tonight, I will be doing something I’ve never done before: filing unemployment.  Now, I’m still going to be working, mind you, but we’ve been told we can file for the days we won’t be working.  I’m not quite sure how much money this will make up, or how long this situation will continue, but I know that this would normally be cause for serious concern.  Especially with a new baby in the house.  I mean, really, how are we supposed to afford to keep this up??  I don’t know, but I know that God knows.  I’m not worked up about it at all because the peace that I’ve found in Christ and the trust that I have in God.  I know that if I trust him we will be fine.  His plan is always better than mine and his will is always stronger, amen?

Proverbs 3:5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.

Last up in this rant, I’m seriously falling behind on art and design stuff.  I’ve now missed 2 (or is it 3?) weekly comic updates, pushed finishing a t-shirt design back to the last possible moment, and skipped out on the church newsletter for last month.  I know, I’m a schmuck!

Things have been so busy in this house since the arrival of our son, and I just can’t seem to get caught up on anything.  We’ve been busy trying to turn an old dumpy ‘play room’ in our house into a bedroom for my wife and I so that it would empty out our current room and we can turn it into a bedroom for our boy (because we’re assuming he won’t want to share with his two big sisters and vice versa.).  This has been a huge hassle, on top of the normal hustle and bustle of the Severt house and the fact that Amanda has been recovering and feeding, which makes it difficult for her to do much else.  It’s definitely worth it, but I definitely need to catch back up!

As of tonight, the new bedroom is mostly finished and moved into, minus our bed because my wife and son are occupying it.  I think that I can get it moved over this weekend and scratch that off of the list.  As far as catching back up…I started a t-shirt design for a friend last week (which I should have started 2 weeks earlier) then had to stop once the drawing was done because I had to do a lot of photoshop stuff, and I only have photoshop installed on my G4 which was unhooked and sitting in piles of stuff in the new bedroom.  Hopefully I can get that finished up tonight and emailed to him.  That would make me feel a little better since it’s the only remaining obligation.  The comic doesn’t really have a deadline (or fans) so I suppose I’m the only one disappointed when it doesn’t get done.

Until next time, folks, good luck and God bless!


  1. June 13th, 2011

Leave a Reply

