A little late for resolutions…

Me & my girls at the Mt. Tabor New Year's Eve Bash

Well, it’s a new year.  It’s time to start reflecting on the past year and to think about the year to come.  2011 was very eventful and exciting for me, with the birth of my first son, Jack, and starting school at Taylor University…there were definitely a lot of ‘ups’ and a few ‘downs’ too, but all in all, it was a good year.  I can’t wait to see what 2012 holds for me and my family, and where God will lead me next!

Looking back at the last year is a little crazy…God has worked in and through my life so much in such a short period of time!  In the beginning of 2010 I was completely lost and hopeless, but by 2011 God had changed all of that.  He had made me realize just how wonderful His ways were, and how deeply he loved us.  He showed me how to forgive, and, as such, how to truly love.  He led me, and I let him.

I came into 2011 with a new lease on life.  I had a restored marriage, thanks be to God, and my wife was pregnant with our third child; my firstborn son.  He has been such a blessing in this house, and I simply can’t imagine life without him.

As if that wasn’t enough, God allowed me to start school studying Christian Ministry at Taylor University in the Fall of 2011, and, so far, it has been an outstanding experience!  I recently finished my first semester and, although somewhat stressful and hectic with a busy home and work schedule, I loved every minute of it!  I finally found a school where I fit in…I finally understand why I don’t fit in elsewhere.  I’m finally seeing God’s plan for my life take shape.

I will be starting my next semester the end of this January, and can’t wait to dig back in.  I will be studying the New Testament as well as taking a Discipleship class this semester…and a fitness class.  I’m excited for 2 of the 3, at least 🙂

Also in 2011, I was blessed with the opportunity to assist in teaching a junior high Sunday school class at my church, Mt. Tabor Church of God.  I knew that they needed help, and was a little scared and reluctant to step up at first, but God led me to do so and I am so grateful for the opportunity!  This too has been an absolute blessing for me!

It hasn’t been all good though.  2011 also saw further deterioration in the relationships between me and some of my family.  Perhaps more because of my stubbornness, and my failure as a new Christian to handle the Gospel gracefully at the beginning of 2011, but there has been some serious strain within my family that I just can’t seem to mend.  I don’t even know where to start.  I pray over the situation, but, as of yet, have been left blinded to a solution.  I will continue praying for healing and mending in this, and I would ask that you, my readers, do the same.

Also, with the added stress of my hectic schedule, I saw a severe outbreak of my psoriasis this year.  You can read my article the Thorn of my Flesh for a little more info on that.  I’ve had this incurable disease since I was about 9, and it has caused me much frustration, pain and embarrassment.  But, admittedly, it has also been used several times to lead me to, or away from situations, so I can’t complain too much, as it seems to always work out for God’s ultimate purpose!  Nevertheless, I could also use prayer in this area.

Well, that seem to sum up most of the major bullet points of my past year…now to chronicle some of the things I will be looking forward to, trying to achieve, or hoping will happen in 2012!

-I can’t wait to celebrate the 6th wedding anniversary with my lovely wife, Amanda!

-I will get to see both of my girls in elementary school (and both out of the house everyday by 8:45 a.m.!)

-I will try to remember to post more frequently on the church’s facebook page…and remember more often to take out the trash!

-I not only want to be a better disciple, but in 2012 I want to spend a lot of time being a better witness and making disciples out of others!

-I hope to start learning Hebrew before the end of the year, and plan or accomplish a short-term mission trip.

-I would like to get more artwork done in 2012.  2011 was a very busy and trying year, and I certainly didn’t have the opportunity for much art 😦

Most importantly, I look forward to another year of walking with our Lord.  In 2011 I grew closer to him than I have ever been or could have ever imagined, and have been blessed abundantly as a result.  I want to continue growing in my relationship with Christ, and being a better reflection of the Lord to this world who desperately needs him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

