I am a new creation, but the old isn’t gone…

The other day, I decided to go ahead and take the dive into facebook timeline, since it was inevitably coming anyway.  I had been dodging the switch because I was dreading going through all the past posts and deleting the things from my past that I didn’t want to be associated with anymore.  After all, I am a new creation, but for facebook, the old is certainly not gone.

After making the switch to timeline, I took a stroll through 2011 and 2010, and didn’t really see anything that reminded me of my past, but, to be fair, I became a Christian in 2010, so I wasn’t likely going to see much of my former self.

I was pleasantly surprised to see past years on the timeline were represented with just a few highlights from the year.  By the time I got to 2009, there were just a few things to look at, and I found myself only deleting one status update, which was riddled with foul language.  After doing so, I saw that there was next to nothing for the years before, so I went ahead and published my timeline and thought to myself, “this timeline thing isn’t nearly as evil as I thought it was going to be…”

When my wife woke up, I told her that I took the plunge into timeline, and we talked briefly about the experience.  She then decided that it was time for her to make the leap, as well.  She made the switch and started browsing through her past, and deleting what she didn’t see fit for publishing on her timeline.  She noticed, however, that the previous years may only show a few highlights, but, if you click on the year in the right sidebar, you can still go month to month throughout the year and see plenty more.

“uh oh” I thought.

She spent a considerable amount of time going through everything before publishing, and while she was doing that, I found myself wondering whether or not I should go back through and spend some more time deleting and constructing the public image that I wanted for myself (especially after seeing drunk pictures of myself passed out in my back yard wearing nothing but my underwear in her timeline).

Ultimately, I decided not to.  I mean, who really looks at it anyway?  Yup, I have a past.  Yup, I was once not a Christian.  Not only was I not a Christian, but I was also a foul mouthed, sex crazed, tobacco inhaling, know-it-all, drunk.  I know who I was.  I know who I am now.  I am a new creation.  The old is gone.  It exists now only on a facebook timeline.  It may choose not to forget, but my God surely does.  If you care to see who I was, then by all means, scroll through my timeline, but I recommend getting to know me for the person I have become through Christ.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

