Tzaraath

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a long time psoriasis sufferer, I often feel like a leper.  It is often depressing and even faith shaking.  Luckily, as I drift further into solitude, separating myself from the world for fear of what they might think and say, I find more and more solace in the word.  I wanted to take a second to list some of my favorite verses that help me deal with my disease.  If you are a psoriasis sufferer or know anyone who is, these might be helpful to you too…enjoy!

“Skin for skin!” Satan replied. “A man will give all he has for his own life.  But stretch out your hand and strike his flesh and bones, and he will surely curse you to your face.” The LORD said to Satan, “Very well, then, he is in your hands; but you must spare his life.” So Satan went out from the presence of the LORD and afflicted Job with painful sores from the soles of his feet to the top of his head.  Then Job took a piece of broken pottery and scraped himself with it as he sat among the ashes.

-Job 2:4-8

Here, God allowed Satan to test Job by afflicting his skin with some disease in order to try to get him to curse God.  I often jump back to Job when dealing with my psoriasis to try to remind myself that I am being tested, and that if I persevere I will be restored.

or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

-2 Corinthians 12:7-10

Similarly, Paul is given a “thorn in his flesh”, a messenger of Satan, to keep him weak and reliant on God’s grace, rather than becoming conceited and sure of his own abilities.  I don’t know what ailment his “thorn” actually was, but, by the way he talks of petitioning to God to take it away, it must not have been a curable disease.  I have often asked God to take my psoriasis away, but he always refuses.  This verse always helps to find reason in that.

Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

-Matthew 10:28

As I find myself becoming distracted by my physical ailment, this verse helps to remind me that Satan may destroy my body in order to take my mind off of the cross, but I need not worry about the destruction of this body.  This helps me to, regardless of my physical condition, refocus on what is really important so that my soul is not also destroyed.

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal that has come on you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you.  But rejoice inasmuch as you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed.

-1 Peter 4:12-13

I absolutely love this passage because I can instantly identify “fiery ordeal” with the burning pain of psoriasis.  Like some of the passages above, this helps to remind me that I am being tested by this disease, and that I should not be surprised by that.  It’s often hard to rejoice as we participate in the sufferings of Christ, though, isn’t it?

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,  because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

-James 1:2-4

Similar to the passage in 1 Peter, this verse challenges us to consider our trials as pure joy.  When I feel the need to complain about my psoriasis, or anything for that matter, my mind instantly goes to this passage and it completely changes my perspective.  It helps me to stop groaning and quietly endure in order to build perseverance.  I know that God has allowed this disease to inflict me for a purpose, and I wouldn’t want to rob myself of what it is that he’s teaching me by having it taken away prematurely.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

-John 16:33

Jesus always says it best!  There is immeasurable hope and comfort in the words of the savior, amen?  I love how Jesus prepares us for the troubles of this world, such as our physical ailments, then offers us hope in knowing that he has overcome all of the troubles of this world, and, by putting our faith in him, we will one day overcome all of our worldly troubles as well.

I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

-Philippians 4:13

Need I say more?

Well folks, that’s my list of favorite passages that help me to deal with psoriasis.  If you are a psoriasis sufferer, or you know someone who is, I hope you too can find comfort in the word.  I hope this helps those who are suffering with psoriasis, or with any disease or ailment, that there is a reason for the disease, and that if we put our trust in the Lord to strengthen us so that we can endure and persevere through the trials, we will overcome all of our worldly troubles and receive eternal life!

    • Ron Severt Sr.
    • March 22nd, 2012

    That is very inspiring Steven. We are more than conquerors.

    • Glad you found it inspiring, Mr. Severt! I think that these passages can be applied to almost any ailment, disease, or trouble of any kind, and, hopefully, people with all sorts of problems can find the same comfort in the word!

  1. October 31st, 2016
  2. November 2nd, 2016
  3. December 12th, 2016
  4. April 22nd, 2017

Leave a Reply

